Kodiaks Hall of Fame

The student-athletes, coaches, teams, leaders and innovators who have contributed to the development of Kodiaks Athletics have left behind a legacy – a legacy that our Hall of Fame celebrates and preserves.

Established in 2017 through the generosity of the Kodiaks Athletic Association, the Kodiaks Hall of Fame seeks to honor those individuals and teams that have brought honour to the Kodiaks and Lethbridge College through outstanding athletic performance and achievement, through academic dedication and commitment, and through exemplary leadership and initiative. 

Class of 2017


The inaugural class of 2017 honoured four outstanding athletes, three foundational coaches and five championship teams from throughout the college’s history. This year’s inductees include:


  • Sharon (Davies) Fogtmann - women’s badminton
  • Laurie Ann Hockridge – women’s basketball
  • Kip Kangogo – men’s cross country running
  • Sai Wong – men’s volleyball


  • John Jasiukiewicz – women’s basketball
  • Alvin Tietz – women’s soccer
  • Tim Tollestrup – men’s basketball


  • 1988-89 and 1989-90 women’s basketball
  • 1988-89 men’s basketball
  • 1993-94 women’s soccer
  • 2002-03 women’s cross country running
  • 2004-05 and 2005-06 men's cross country running

“I would like to thank Lethbridge College for this honour and wish to congratulate all the inductees,” says Sharon (Davies) Fogtmann, who won the CCAA women’s badminton championship in 1979. “I was very proud to represent Lethbridge College in the CCAA badminton championships in Montreal. The support of Lethbridge College was an integral part of my success in the sport and one of my fellow inductees, Tim Tollestrup, was a huge supporter of badminton during his tenure as athletic director.”

The Kodiaks Hall of Fame is an initiative of the Kodiak Athletic Association, a group of boosters committed to preserving and celebrating the college’s athletic history, while finding opportunities to support current and future Kodiaks student-athletes. Plaques of the inductees will be permanently placed on display in the mezzanine area of the Val Matteotti Gymnasium.

“We have such a rich history of Kodiaks athletics, dating back to our very first year as a college in 1957, and we want to celebrate that,” says Todd Caughlin, manager of Kodiaks Athletics. “We have earned 57 ACAC championships and 12 CCAA championships, so we will have no shortage of worthy nominees in the years to come, and we believe this first class represents a great start to what will become a tremendous Kodiaks tradition.”

Inductees will be honoured during halftime of the Kodiaks women’s and men’s basketball games on Friday, as well as between sets three and four of the Kodiaks volleyball teams on Saturday. The women’s games begin at 6 p.m. each night, with the men’s games following at 8 p.m., in the Val Matteotti Gymnasium. Ceremony times for the inductees are as follows:

  • Women’s basketball (Friday): ’88-’90 women’s basketball, Jasiukiewicz, Hockridge
  • Men’s basketball (Friday): ’88-’89 men’s basketball, Tollestrup, Fogtmann
  • Women’s volleyball (Saturday): ’93-’94 women’s soccer, Tietz, ’02-’03 women’s XC
  • Men’s volleyball (Saturday): Kangogo, ’04-’06 men’s XC, Wong